At a glance
  • ‘The Endellion is arguably the finest quartet in Britain, playing with poise, true intonation, excellent balance and a beautiful tone’ – New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
30th August 2017

Endellion String Quartet - October to May Concerts

endellion string quartet lark

Lark has been supporting the Endellion String Quartet since 2015. The Endellion String Quartet is a world-renowned and internationally recognised ensemble, one of the finest in existence today. Three of its original founding members continue to play in the Quartet.

The Endellion String Quartet not only performs concerts and tours on a global scale, they also deliver workshops and training sessions encouraging collaboration and teamwork in commercial organisations and not-for-profit organisations.


Wednesday, 18 October 2017  7.30 p.m - 9.30 p.m
BEETHOVEN – String Quartet Op.18 No.1  
ADÈS – Arcadiana Op.12
BRAHMS – Piano Quartet No.1 Op.25
Barry Douglas guest pianist
We are delighted to welcome the distinguished Irish pianist, Barry Douglas who will join us in Brahms’s compelling first piano quartet, celebrated for its exciting gypsy finale. Beethoven’s Op.18 No.1 has at its centre the plaintive slow movement which was inspired by the tomb scene in Romeo and Juliet. Thomas Adès’s Arcadiana was written especially for the Endellions and is now firmly established in the repertoire of quartets around the world.

Wednesday, 15 November 2017 7.30 p.m - 9.30 p.m
HAYDN – String Quartet Op.74 No.3 (‘Rider’)    SHOSTAKOVICH – String Quartet No.3 Op.73  BEETHOVEN – String Quartet Op.74 (‘Harp’) 
Haydn’s ‘Rider’ quartet is one of his most loved and admired works. The Shostakovich is one of his most expressive and descriptive pieces: he wrote a summary of the story of each movement which he later deleted from the score but which has survived. Beethoven’s ‘Harp’ quartet, named for the pizzicato passage leading to the return in the first movement, is one of his warmest and most affectionate pieces with a sublime slow movement.

Wednesday, 17 January 2018 7.30 p.m - 9.30 p.m
BEETHOVEN – String Quartet Op.18 No.2 
MOZART – String Quartet K.421 
WEBERN – Six Bagatelles for String Quartet Op.9 TCHAIKOVSKY – String Quartet No.3 Op.30
Op.18 No.2 is Beethoven’s most Mozartian, good-natured and elegant of his early quartets; Mozart’s D minor is one of his most intense, tragic and profound works and opens with one of the most memorable of his melodies. Webern’s astonishingly expressive Bagatelles take all of 3½ minutes but Schoenberg described Webern as being able to ‘express a novel in a single gesture, joy in a single indrawn breath …’ In contrast, is the luxurious expansiveness of Tchaikovsky’s third and final quartet which is as masterly and moving as any of his symphonies.

Wednesday, 14 February 2018 7.30 p.m - 9.30 p.m
HAYDN – String Quartet Op.20 No.3 (‘Sun) MOZART – String Quartet K.589 
BEETHOVEN – String Quartet Op.132
Haydn’s Op 20 set of quartets announced him as one of the greatest composers. Mozart’s K.589 is one of the ‘King of Prussia’ group with the cello coming to the fore as a melodic instrument: the King played the cello and must have been no slouch on the instrument! Beethoven’s A minor late quartet transcends all description and passes from dark introspection and questioning to unbridled joy.

Wednesday, 7 March 2018 7.30 p.m - 9.30 p.m
MOZART – String Quartet K.387 (‘Spring’) BEETHOVEN – String Quartet Op.135
TBC – Quintet with guest student musician
For this concert, the Endellions combine with a Cambridge student to play a quintet (TBC). This will be preceded by Mozart’s delightfully joyous first mature quartet. Beethoven’s final quartet Op.135 has an almost Haydn-esque feel to it and includes an unforgettable slow movement built from variations, a form that Beethoven raised to unparalleled heights in his final years.

Wednesday, 16 May 2018 7.30 p.m - 9.30 p.m
HAYDN – String Quartet Op.76 No.4 (‘Sunrise’)     BARBER – String Quartet Op.11 
BRAHMS – String Quartet No.1 Op.51 No.1
Barber’s expressive quartet includes the Adagio, one of the 20th century’s most loved pieces. Here in its original quartet form, it has the intimacy and the extreme stretching of sonority that was part of its force in its original conception. Haydn’s ‘Sunrise’ is as sun-blessed as its nickname suggests. Brahms’s intense C minor masterpiece is the first quartet he allowed to be published after destroying dozens with which he was dissatisfied.

Book online:    .

To learn more about the Endellion String Quartet and for further information about their concerts, click here to visit their website!